Just to touch base with you

No.153

S4DSC_5997

It has been more than 2 months since I wrote my last blog post and time flies faster every year. Christmas and New Year seem to be yesterday but it is February 7 and I thought I should write a post to touch base with you.

It is February and it is the month of many birthdays in my house. Today is actually my daughter’s birthday, she has turned to be 23 years old and I still can’t believe it. My little girl is now 23.  3 days ago was my husband’s birthday and you maybe have seen the cake I made for him but here it is. It was a marzipan and raspberry cream cake. Pink flowers were also marzipan, I colored it first and cut out with a cutter and trimmed with a small knife.

S4DSC_6061

My way of healthy cooking still continues. In my daily bento I try to have less rice, less egg, less sugar and more vegetables than before. And I think I eat more fish and chicken than before and some vegetables like carrots and potatoes are less used than before, too. I now try  to limit egg consumption to 2 eggs a week and my blood test is showing a positive result, so that is good.  In the beginning it was not so easy to have everything in control and eggs and white rice were missed very much… Specially eggs are such an easy and handy ingredient to make a good bento side dish quickly.

My parents’ update is that both my father and mother are doing well, they are still going to the hospital to see their doctors, my mother has to take a blood test every other day, but they are doing well. My husband was also operated in January in Norway and he is also recovering well…

I have been enjoying a new kind of yoghurt called “Skyr”. It originally comes from Iceland and is getting very popular in Norway now. Skyr has less fat and more protein than yoghurt, we add berries and nuts or cereal to it or it makes wonderful smoothies. It tastes almost like greek yoghurt but I think Skyr is lighter and more smooth.  I served it in a small glass and added homemade blueberry jam and nuts on top. Chilled it in the snow, the Norwegian way!

skyrinstagram

It is a short post and without a recipe, but I just wanted to say hello.

Hope you like this new template of my blog, I have been working on it for awhile, it has been jazzed up a little.

Have a good Sunday!
xxx Rie

5 thoughts on “Just to touch base with you

  1. I’m so glad you all are doing well! It’s a bummer that you have to cut back on the carbs, but it’s great that your health is improving!

    It’s dreadfully cold here in MD USA, so I’ve been relying on carbs for sugars to keep my energy up(I’m so thin, I burn so many calories trying to keep my body warm because my parents’ house is frigid, my work is frigid, and I have to walk literally a half a mile to and from my university class from my car). I’ve been trying to cut back on chips and junk foods, so I have onigiri in my minifridge, ready to go at a moments notice.
    Once it gets warmer, however, I will have to cut back on the carbs and eat more fruits and vegetables as well.

    I’d love to see your healthier bentos, your meals have been a great source of inspiration to me since I’ve gotten into bento making! ❤

    1. Hi Grace, thanks for your comment. Yes, I am feeling much better, I lost some pounds and I feel lighter! I hope you eat well and stay warm, Onigiri is a good idea! It is such a handy and yummy snack food, much better than a fatty chips!!
      I am glad to hear I can inspire someone with my cooking, thank you so much !!

  2. It’s always good to see your lastest ideas in cooking! It lifts me out of my routines of cooking as I always do. It’s so easy to go with what you know! The cake was beautiful!

Leave a Reply

