Gallery – my bentos April 2014

No.115

I am starting Gallery of my bento photos again. Here I made these bentos in the month of April 2014.  There are not so many because I went to USA and did not come home until the end of the first week. It was getting lighter here in Oslo, and I started to enjoy taking photos again in my kitchen…. Enjoy!

April 11
April 11
April 14
April 14
April 15
April 15

 

April 16
April 16

 

April 19
April 19

 

April 22
April 22

 

April 23
April 23

 

April 25
April 25

 

April 28
April 28

 

April 29
April 29

 

April 30
April 30
4 thoughts on “Gallery – my bentos April 2014

  1. Lovely work – my goddaughters loved bentos for lunch when they were young, though they called it tiny food =) I can remember the firs time I did chemo and was having nausea issues my husband would make me his version of bento boxes in tupperware sandwich boxes. I could never really manage to eat a whole American style meal but I could manage to nibble at small portions of stuff. He would put together 3 or 4 different bentos and leave them n the cooler by the bed for me and I could pick and choose which one looked more appealing to my appetite at the time.

    I just wish that regular Americans would consider doing bentos as lunches instead of junk food meals full of crap, all it takes is making certain stuff ahead of time and thinking ahead when you do your shopping [though I admit, when I was on chemo fruit and veggies tended to appeal to me most of all so I would get things like little balls of canteloup melon with sliced ham kitty ears and olive eyes or black olive penguins … ]

    1. Hello, thank you for your comment. First of all I hope you are feeling well. I totally understand as I also went through cancer treatment and my husband also did some tupperware-deliveries 🙂 for me. Fruits, specially melons and pineapples, do appeal in such days, don’t they? In february this year I got sick in Paris and was stranded at the airport by the doctor’s order. I was traveling alone and all I ate was a small bento pack of fruits they had at the take away restaurant in the airport. I really appreciated they had that small pack of food!!
      I think people in USA are really divided when it comes to healthy food. Some are super super mindful of what they eat and some really don’t care a damn. Food education among young children is also missing too, I think. Bento as you said can contribute a lot and I think it is coming. There are many moms in USA who are really trying hard to make healthy lunch boxes for their kids but it is not integrated much enough to be called “a common practice”. I hope you will join and enjoy making bento sometime? Have a good day, thanks for your comment. xx Rie

Leave a Reply

