Pasta Recipe 7 – Zucchini and Pasta Soup

No.76

I generally love all kinds of food but traveling to a place where you know
you will get good local food is a fun thing to do. In 2010 and 2011 I was in Italy a
lot enjoying the wonderful food and learning Italian rich and traditional food culture.

It was in November 2010, my husband and I were in Rome. We went to a
modern italian restaurant and here there was Zucchini Soup.

It has been more than 2 and a half years but I still remember how it tasted like.
It was a cold day in November and a bowl of warm soup was so good.  But I do
so well remember this soup because it was almost a culture shock to me, as the
zucchini in the soup was relatively uncooked and it still had crunchy vegetable
texture and it was amazingly very good.  The chef poured olive oil into my soup
cup and it was another culture shock. I had never had a soup like that!

Anyway, I wanted to make a similar kind of soup today with the tiny cute soup pasta.
I tried with and without chicken and I think personally the one with chicken was better.

Zucchini Soup with Pasta
Serves 2 
Zucchini         250g
Garlic             1 clove
Shallot            1
Chicken          50g  (breast)
White wine     40cc
Fresh baby oregano
Fresh Parsley
Olive oil
Water  600cc

1.  Cut the chicken into small pieces.
2.  Mince garlic and shallot.

3.  In a cold pan, put 1 table spoon of olive oil and garlic and shallot. Heat it and sautee
for 5 minutes.

4.  Add chicken. Sautee. When the chicken is almost all cooked, pour white wine and
600cc of water. Bring to a simmer. Add your herbs. Put the lid on and cook for 10 min.
Separate soup and chicken through a strainer.

 

5.  While you are cooking, cut zucchini into cubes.

6.  Add the zucchini and soup pasta, and cook for 3 minutes.
Serve in a bowl. Add some olive oil, salt and pepper. Bon Appetit!

2 thoughts on “Pasta Recipe 7 – Zucchini and Pasta Soup

  1. This looks like a yummy recipe and I would like to try it. But you don’t include the pasta in your ingredient list for pasta size and amount. It looks larger than acini di pepe (no.78), which is what I was thinking of using.

    1. Hi, thank you for your comment. Yes please try! Yes the zucchini is cut a little larger than acini de pepe but I think it is perfect in this soup. When I wrote this recipe there was a discussion on my facebook page about the kind of pasta that you like to put in soup. It was very interesting what they define as “soup pasta”. Actually most of them prefer to use Acini di pepe No.78 but I think you can use any pasta you like as long as they are relatively small and do not absorb up all the soup in itselves. The smaller pasta was preferred because of this reason I wonder. I did not put any quantity as it is totally your preference if you like more filling type of a dinner of lunch soup with lots of pasta and vegetables that you eat or just a liquid-full side dish type of soup that you drink.

Leave a Reply

