Blue Cheese Dressing

No.57

Actually, I am allergic to many fruits. I LOVE fruits but am allergic to apples, apricots, pears, plums, peaches and more. These fruits have something in common, which gives me allergic reactions, but funny enough, I react only when they are raw. When they are cooked or dried I can enjoy them without any problem and thus I am collecting good recipes using dry fruits and cooked fruits. I specially like apricots. Apricot jam is good to have on your toast or a chocolate cake, dry apricots are superb, too. If you soak them in a water overnight, they are so soft and tender next morning. Drain well, cut them into small pieces and throw them into your cereal or salad! Of course fresh apricots are the best but to me it is a good substitute.

Let’s talk about fruits in a salad. It might sound an odd combination to you, but if you have the right kind of salad dressing, oh, you will love it! I think blue cheese is a good player here. Blue cheese is a good friend with many fruits, figs for example are a golden combination with blue cheese. Pears are also good, also apples and grapes. Sweetness and a bit of sourness of the fruits make such a wonderful harmony with the distinctive taste of blue cheese.

I saw a recipe of blue cheese salad dressing on Internet and tried it to taste. And, as usual, I changed it a little bit and here is my version of blue cheese salad dressing. I will be glad if you would try and enjoy on your good salad with some fruits!

Blue Cheese Dressing

Blue Cheese         70g (not so salty one)
Sour Cream         3 table spoons
Mayonnaise         2 table spoons
Milk                     2 table spoons
White wine vinegar  1 table spoon
Honey                      1 table spoon
Salt, pepper

1. Leave the blue cheese in the room temperature for 15 minutes.
Cut or crumble the cheese so that it is easy to work with. Dissolve the cheese in milk,
don’t put all the cheese at once. Put 1/3 at a time.

2. Put the sour cream and mayonnaise in a small bowl and add the cheese. Mix well.
Here I am using a spoon but you  can use your blender too.

3.  Add white wine vinegar.

4.  Add honey. Mix, mix, mix!

5.  Done! 🙂   Pour the dressing over well-chilled salad with your favorite fruits.
I made this salad for bento today, with dried apricot and cranberries. Both were reconstituted in
water over night.  Bon Appetit!

 

xx Rie

2 thoughts on “Blue Cheese Dressing

  1. All the ones you are allergic to are tree fruits; I'm guessing you have hayfever too which is worse when tree pollen is about? It's a linked allergy – I suffer too but can't give up cherries so take a hayfever tablet before I eat them; voila!

Leave a Reply

