La méthode expérimentale

No.32

My little experiment.
On Takoyaki pan.

I have been experimenting on this Takoyaki machine since the last blog post. 
Indeed, this is an unique thing.  It is like a big fry pan with many holes in a way,
and it is like many cake molds connected together, too. This half-spherical shape
is unique in itself, but I think that the fact that these molds are connected and
the connecting surface around the round molds is also heated and therefore the
overflow can be grilled hot and cooked on it is interesting. It may sound like a
messy type of cooking and you may have a picture of a messy scene in your mind,
but to me it really invites my curiosity. (I am basically a very curious person)

Takoyaki is a round ball. And then we ask ourselves, “Why didn’t they make a machine
that has several perfectly spherical molds already?” If you have seen the iron mold for
making Taiyaki, you have the same image as mine. It can be a cast iron (maybe of Pyrex?)
ball with a little hole on top. You pour in the ingredients through the hole and close the
hole before it rotates around some kind of a heat source. Won’t be easier??

Technically speaking, the maximum volume which this half-spherical mold can hold in it
is not enough to create 1 perfect round ball. You will add other ingredients like a bit of
octopus or vegetables to it and the batter expands when heated, but still it applies up to
probably 65-70% of the necessary volume to make 1 spherical ball. Therefore you need
the overflow cooked on the connecting surface of the pan!

Looking at these round molds, I got curious and wanted to play and do
a little experiment on it!

First object: Meat ball

Well, the experiment started from an easy object. Meal balls look like Takoyaki, it is a round mass
of food! 25g of ground beef could fill 1 mold.  I mixed with some onion, salt, pepper, 1 table
spoon of egg, fresh green chili and some nutmeg.  First, use the highest heat to fry the
surface crisp and gradually take the heat down to medium-low heat to cook through the
meat ball.  My whole kitchen smelled wonderful. Ummmmm….  I keep flipping and turning with
a bamboo pick. It looked great but at the first experiment the inside of the meat ball was
not done and I could not eat it….  I should have cooked it more but I was afraid the surface
would be scorched. So, this experience changed the recipe! I made a meat ball like you
make Onigiri, and I put some cheese in the middle.  

I again keep flipping and rolling. My bamboo pick must have pricked a small hole in the meat ball,
the runny cheese was flowing out just like bubbling lava from a volcano. Thanks to the hot
surface, the cheese got grilled right away. I scraped and tucked it back to the meat ball, just like
I do the same for Takoyaki. I look forward to tasting some crispy cheese bits in melting
cheesy sauce in the middle of the meat ball! Nam nam!    Next I made Omuraisu!

Second object : Mini Omuraisu

Egg, salt, pepper and 1 tea spoon of milk was poured into the mold on medium heat.

You can make many Omuraisu at the same time, actually I have never made
7 Omuraisu at the same time on the same pan! ^^  It was very interesting.  The eggs
get cooked very fast and I found the egg gets very dry if you cook the egg alone.
Probably the heat was also too high for this tiny amount of egg… So, I changed
the method and put in the chicken rice as soon as I poured in the egg. On the Takoyaki

pan, the heat comes from the sides and the bottom at the same time and you need to
disperse the heat. In order to do that, it is very helpful to have the mold filled with food.

As I got some left over of the egg mixture, I made a small tamagoyaki with some cheese as well.
In the mold, a tiny round tamagoyaki was fried and cheese was melting on top.

Today I will be taking this bento, well, shall we call it “Experiment bento”?

I made some Takoyaki as well.  It is hard to tell but ones with a small dot of ketchup on top are Omuraisu. Ones without any sauce on top are Takoyaki (I have three of them). 2 meat balls with cheese inside and 1 round tamagoyaki on cheese on top.

My experiment will continue.
I may want to bake some sweet cakes (like Baumkuchen) or cookies with this Takoyaki pan.
For you who is as curious as me and for you who want to try to find some
other flexible ways to use Takoyaki pan, I will continue my experiment. 

Before that, I clean the pan well. Until the next time.

If you are buying a takoyaki pan or machine, choose one that you can clean easily!
That is my advice. 

Thanks for following!
xx Rie

========================================
To those who can read Japanese,
今月号のオレンジページにたこ焼き器の楽しい使い方が載ってます。
ハンバーグとか焼きおにぎりなんかもできるそうですよー♪
本屋さんで見てみてねー!

2 thoughts on “La méthode expérimentale

  1. J'avais déjà très envie d'essayer les takoyaki mais tes expériences me donne encore plus envie.
    Je trouve tes essais très intéressants et surtout très appétissants.

Leave a Reply

